Skip to content
Home » Willie J. Mackey National Medical Respite Award

Willie J. Mackey National Medical Respite Award

This award is named in honor of the late Willie J. Mackey, a dedicated member of the RCPN Steering Committee and a fierce advocate for medical respite care. This award recognizes an individual who has made a profound impact on their community through the delivery or advancement of medical respite care. The award is presented annually at the National Health Care for the Homeless Conference.*

Nominations for the 2023 Willie J. Macky Award are closed. Come back for next year’s nominations

Nominations for the 2023 award must be received by March 8th, 2023.

Award Criteria

The award recognizes outstanding contributions to the field of medical respite care by an individual as determined by their impact on improved health and quality of life for people experiencing homelessness. Contributions to the field can include but are not limited to, clinical care, program development, policy change, advocacy, community collaboration, or innovations in research.

Nomination Materials

Selection Process

  • The Respite Care Providers Network will review all nominations and select the award recipient based on the stated criteria.
  • Staff will notify all nominators of selection results by March 31, 2021.

Please email all nomination materials or questions to the Medical Respite Coordinator. Incomplete nominations will not be considered.